END OF Cross-boundary municipalities

Prior to the 5 December 2000 elections, the Constitution was amended and other legislation was enacted, to provide for the demarcation and establishment of cross-boundary municipalities, i.e. municipalities straddling provincial boundaries. Sixteen cross-boundary municipalities were established affecting five provinces in South Africa. The creation of such municipalities was necessary to bring interdependent people and economies on different sides of a provincial boundary together in one municipality.

In implementing this arrangement many service delivery and other problems surfaced, and government decided to repeal all legislation pertaining to cross-boundary municipalities, and to realign provincial boundaries by defining the geographic areas of provinces in the Constitution. The relevant legislation was considered by Parliament and the President assented to the Cross-boundary Municipalities Laws Repeal and Related Matters Act, and the Constitution Twelfth Amendment Act on 23 December 2005.

In this process the Municipal Demarcation Board also had to review municipal boundaries to ensure synergy between the two Acts and the municipal boundaries determined by the Board.

The legislation and re-determination of municipal boundaries brought about the following changes:



- The Bohlabela Cross-Boundary District Municipality (CDM) between Limpopo and Mpumalanga was disestablished. Maruleng Local Municipalities and the northern portion of the Kruger Park District Management Areas was moved to Mopani District Municipality in Limpopo, and Bushbuckridge Local Municipality together with the southern portion of the Kruger Park moved to Ehlanzeni District Municipality in Mpumalanga.
- The Sekhukune CDM and all the local municipalities within its boundaries were moved to Limpopo.
- A portion of Thembisile Local Municipality and Nkangala District Municipality was moved to Kungwini Local Municipality and Metsweding District Municipality.
- The Metsweding CDM was moved to Gauteng.
- Merafong Cross-Boundary Local Municipality was moved from West Rand CDM to Southern District Municipality in North West.
- The West Rand CDM (without Merafong) was moved to Gauteng.
- Umzimkulu Local Municipality was moved from

Robert Willemse Municipal Demarcation Board

Alfred Nzo District Municipality in the Eastern Cape to the Sisonke District Municipality in KwaZulu-Natal.

- Matatiele Local Municipality was moved from Sisonke District Municipality in KwaZulu-Natal to Alfred Nzo District Municipality in the Eastern Cape.
- Certain portions of Umzimvubu Local Municipality, including the Maluti area, were demarcated into Matatiele Local Municipality.

These changes will take effect from municipal election day on 1 March 2006.

The Matatiele Local Municipality and others, who are against the inclusion of Matatiele into Alfred Nzo District in the Eastern Cape, have instituted legal action to test the constitutionality of the two Acts in the Constitutional Court. The matter will be heard in February by the Court.

